--- title: "Patron Record Merging" slug: "patron-record-merging" updated: 2026-04-27T17:53:20Z published: 2026-04-27T17:53:20Z canonical: "docs.surpass.cloud/patron-record-merging" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.surpass.cloud/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Patron Record Merging Patron Record Merging allows you to combine duplicate patron records into a single, complete record. ## Merge a Patron Record To merge a patron record, find the patron you want to merge, the **source record**. Then click the **Edit** button and select **Merge into Another Record** at the bottom of the patron panel. ![patron-merge-start](https://cdn.document360.io/dd4d24fa-d091-45a6-be6a-9adef7b432ec/Images/Documentation/patron-merge-start.png) You will be asked to confirm that you want to begin the merge process. ![patron-merge-confirm-start](https://cdn.document360.io/dd4d24fa-d091-45a6-be6a-9adef7b432ec/Images/Documentation/patron-merge-confirm-start.png) Click **Yes** to continue. You will then see a message explaining the next step in the process. ![patron-merge-instructions](https://cdn.document360.io/dd4d24fa-d091-45a6-be6a-9adef7b432ec/Images/Documentation/patron-merge-instructions.png) Click **OK** to proceed. ## Select the Target Record Search for and select the patron record you want to merge into (the **target record**). You can: - Use the search bar - Select from the list on the left - Choose from **Recent Patrons** Once the target record is displayed, you will be prompted to confirm your selection. - Click **Yes** to continue - Click **No** to choose a different record - Click **Cancel** to stop the merge process ![patron-merge-target-confirm](https://cdn.document360.io/dd4d24fa-d091-45a6-be6a-9adef7b432ec/Images/Documentation/patron-merge-target-confirm.png) ## Final Confirmation A final warning message will appear before completing the merge. Click **Yes** to proceed. ![patron-merge-final-warning](https://cdn.document360.io/dd4d24fa-d091-45a6-be6a-9adef7b432ec/Images/Documentation/patron-merge-final-warning.png) ## What Happens After the Merge ### Target Record The selected target record will now include: - Combined circulation history - Combined ledger information - Updated demographic details - Any additional data such as photo and address from the source record ### Source Record The original source record will: - Have circulation and ledger history removed - Be marked as **Inactive** You may choose to delete the source record if it is no longer needed. Merges Cannot Be Undone Once a patron merge is completed, it cannot be reversed. Be sure you have selected the correct target record before confirming. Best Practice After completing a merge, review the updated patron record to ensure all data appears as expected and to re add any family connections (**as these do not carry over**) before deleting the source record.